LeisureMarine News

NEXT ON-LINE ‘ZOOM’ SKIPPERS COURSE ON 21/06/2022

Nov 19, 2020 | Boats

As a result of the Covid 19 measures introduced since our 17.3.2020 NEWS item, Leisure Marine has successfully presented the theory section of the Cat R Skippers course online using ZOOM, a simple video conferencing application. This will now be done MONTHLY until DECEMBER 2022 and gives you the exact same course with the exact same qualified and approved instructor. BOOK NOW

Click on link below to download the booking form:

LINK: 2022 booking form and dates

 

As a result of the Covid 19 measures introduced since our 17.3.2020 NEWS item, Leisure Marine has successfully presented the theory section of the Cat R Skippers course online using ZOOM, a simple video conferencing application. This will now be done MONTHLY until DECEMBER 2022 and gives you the exact same course with the exact same qualified and approved instructor.

Course dates until the end of December 2022 will be as follows:

NATIONAL SMALL VESSEL CERTIFICATE OF COMPETENCY

ON-LINE ZOOM COURSE DATES

skippers dates 2022    
     
Month Theory Date Exam Date
     
January Tuesday, 25 January 2022 Saturday, 29 January 2022
     
Febuary Tuesday, 22 February 2022 Saturday, 26 February 2022
     
March Tuesday, 22 March 2022 Saturday, 26 March 2022
     
April Tuesday, 19 April 2022 Saturday, 23 April 2022
     
May no course no course
     
June Tuesday, 21 June 2022 Saturday, 25 June 2022
     
July Tuesday, 26 July 2022 Saturday, 30 July 2022
     
August Tuesday, 23 August 2022 Saturday, 27 August 2022
     
September Tuesday, 20 September 2022 Saturday, 24 September 2022
     
October Tuesday, 25 October 2022 Saturday, 29 October 2022
     
November Tuesday, 22 November 2022 Saturday, 26 November 2022
     
December Tuesday, 06 December 2022 Saturday, 10 December 2022

 

The video conferencing course is easily set up and gives you the full course in the comfort and safety of your own home, just follow the instructions below.

This is how it’s going to work
Step 1: Do I need a skipper’s licence, or do I know someone who needs a skippers licence? Yes….
Step 2: Send an email to phillip@leisuremarine.za.com giving your Name, ID number and a contact number.
Step 3: Download the Zoom application. This can be done on your mobile or PC, see links below

PC   https://www.zoom.us/ 

For mobile devices go to your app store.
IOS   https://apps.apple.com/us/app/zoom-cloud-meetings/id546505307
ANDROID     https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=us.zoom.videomeetings&hl=en_ZA

Step 4: You will receive a confirmation email.
Step 5: Deposit the course fee into the following account.
P A Jones
ABSA
632005
A/C # 9107565114
R2,400-00
What does this include:
• Zoom live online lecture with Phillip Jones (Approved SAMSA lecturer)
• Workbook/course notes
• One on one exam with course instructor (See notes below)
• Practical (If required / see notes below)
• Temporary Skippers Certificate
• Permanent Skippers Certificate (SAMSA) This can take a while to be processed.
Step 6: Email proof of payment to phillip@leisuremarine.za.com
Step 7: Receive workbook / notes and documentation and ZOOM MEETING ID
Step 8: Login to ZOOM at 5:45pm on the course date, course/ lecture starts at 6pm
Lecture will consist of the following: Rules of “the road”, safety procedures, safety equipment, the legislation, documentation required etc. This will be approx. two and a half hours with a break in between.
Step 9: Receive a certificate stating that you have successfully completed the theory part of the Cat. R Skippers Certificate.
Notes:
Once the lecture has been completed the following still needs to be done.
1. Exam: The legislation states that the Skippers course exam can only be undertaken in the presence of an approved examiner. So, make an appointment with Phillip at Leisure Marine to write the exam. Leisure Marine/ Phillip will be able to accommodate the exam during the following hours:
a. Monday to Friday 8am to 3pm
b. Saturday 8:30pm to 10am
It is a written exam and normally takes about an hour.
2. Practical: This can also be arranged with Phillip.
For any further queries please contact me admin@leisuremarine.za.com or 0113188252